Sexy, a fashion nightmare for the older woman?

Just for fun 🙂 .
3c999570c9ca533f124fc329f49c7dbd

“Mutton dressed up as Lamb” Is a British way of describing a (deluded) older woman who is dressed in a style more suited to a younger woman, also slightly derogatory because she’s deliberately trying to appear young.

Or you may prefer Bernadette Matthews definition at mumsnet.com: 

‘Too much leg and cleavage on show at the same time!’

Regular readers to this WP will be aware I love interacting with other writers, well this evening I’ve a response post prompted by the excellent LA and her thought provoking blog Forever21, I urge you to follow she’s possibly my favourite blogger, slightly irreverent, ladles of honest American attitude and oozing oodles of common sense,.

‘I dressed in an outfit that I thought was good for the event and that I felt confident in. And basically, this is how you should feel when you walk out the door. A friend saw a picture of me and said that I looked stylish and sexy, which of course was my exact goal. But then I started to wonder- was I starting to push it?

So, while we were on line, I said this to my friend, who is in excellent shape and looks great for any age, and she simply shook her head and said “Yeah. I know. When do we actually look good for our age, and when do we start to look ridiculous.”

Ok I agree, LA probably didn’t have the derogatory and unfair ‘label’ mutton dressed up as lamb’ at the point of her writing ‘when do we look good for our age and when do we start to look ridiculous’, but hey they make interesting bedfellows don’t you think?

I’d suggest the what to wear dilemma hardly ever crosses a guy’s mind, I’m age 50 and feel completely comfortable wearing charcoal black jeans matched with a light blue Oxford long sleeved shirt, perhaps a sweater and smart shoes, all very casual, a look I could wear at work or down the pub of a weekend and I’d guess no one gives me a second glance………. HOWEVER I have no doubt what NOT to wear is a real headache for the older woman!

So as I’m at a lose end I did a little on-line surfing all in the name of research, oh and because I’m a guy who knows sweet FA about fashion! Then I happened across this jewel of Debenham’s research which said,

‘When it comes to fashion, nine in ten women aim to dress younger than their years. And more than half say they won’t start ‘dressing their age’ until they are at least 70’, further ‘Over half said they began to dress younger in their 30s and 90 per cent admitted they had started to dress younger by their mid-40s’.

Now LA’s a lady who loves lists and these Top 10 Items You’re Too Old to Wear, read as brilliant advice, and remember I know sweet FA about fashion, clueless, however I’m as quick to judge and point my finger as every other guy so why not give an opinion! Hmm, and I wouldn’t disagree with their 10 ‘fashion minefields’,

  1. Message tee shirts
  2. Too trendy denim
  3. Costume shoes
  4. Micro mini skirts
  5. Anything Showing Excessive Cleavage/Visible or coloured bra straps.
  6. White, Ribbed Cotton Tank Tops
  7. Hair gadgets
  8. Oversized decorated Hobo Bags
  9. Cheap unflattering underwear
  10. Loud accessories

“But trying too hard only calls attention to yourself – it’s overcompensating. You don’t need to dress like a teenager to look young.”

As I’ve said before I’m a keen observer of the human female mammal, read my posts, and I would suggest the true bananas skin, fashion fau-pa opportunity is sexiness, get it wrong wear a short a black leather skirt, heals inches too high, blouses too low cut are a recipe for unwanted attention from men, and disapproving looks from women worried about losing their man and I ain’t saying nothing about looking like a hooker!

Just avoid anything four inches or more above the knee and add tights to make a short skirt less risqué, say the experts. Or wear chic straight skirts, classy being the watchword, allowing you to show off some curves without making you look as though you’re pretending to be born after the Bill Clinton years!

It’s a worry but classy is the watch word, trouser jeans you can wear from the PTA meeting to a party when paired with the right top, stylish padded shoes with wider thicker heels and definitely avoid anything that shows excessive cleavage or visible coloured bra straps……….. or any underwear for that matter.

0818a65ff44362f28e79ebac376d6ec2I realise the older woman would never be caught dressed like this, whoever lol thought low-cut jeans and thongs was a good idea? But I guess the saying ‘you’re only young once applies!

Apparently the more mature lady ‘shouldn’t feel she needs to show it all off. Anything below the middle of your bustline has got to go,’ ‘A little goes a long way,” and no excessive ‘boobage’ past the age of 40, displaying too much sagging skin apparently is a no no, so go for a blouse underneath, unbutton a few buttons and you’re going to look sexy but classy’.

Having said all that, the summer of 2018 was one of Britain’s hottest, and I can recall as if yesterday sitting on the top deck of a bus, looking out the window and watching a woman age 65 if a day. Totally captivated I was, for this mature lady in her blue pencil skirt and restrained high heels wore a tight fitting tee shirt with, wait for it, no bra! And all I’ll add to that is she was a ‘big girl’ yet looked both classy and ravishing!

Way to go madam.

And now we arrive at number 9 ‘Cheap, Unflattering Underwear’ and I’ll profess to being an interested expert! As I’ve written before M&S tells us most women are not fitted properly, a woman’s breasts and body sags so I guess underwear needs to be as supportive as it is sexy.

Having said all or that, our Group Secretary at work throughout Summer wears low cut print dresses displaying her ample assets, the only trouble is us Technicians are NOT listening to our lecturing Professor! Yep I agree, appropriate sexiness is where an older woman can look classy or yes ‘Mutton Dressed Up as Lamb’.

And finally advice from the experts.

“Every woman must make her own decisions about when to break the rules, but what you’re striving for isn’t to look youthful – it’s to look ageless, this way, you’re going to look fabulous because the look is appropriate for you.”

A. Shepherdson 2019

11 thoughts on “Sexy, a fashion nightmare for the older woman?

  1. This was brilliant and I wish I wrote it. Now, having read your list of offenses, I committed none of them. So I’m going that my outfit, though maybe eccentric, was at least probably not too young. But thank you for keen observations and witty delivery!!❤️❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree with the final advice. For men, the worst often comes in not admitting they cannot squeeze into a certain size any more, bellies hanging over belts, button burstage, moobs contoured in tee-shirts, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think women spend too much time pointing fingers at other women who aren’t fitting into their own personal ideal and maybe men as well. We need to celebrate our humanity. We need to have the fearlessness to wear whatever we want to wear and feel as magnificent as we truly are. If you’re asking the question “Do I look ridiculous?” then what you’re really asking is, “Will other people think I look ridiculous?” And this is the wrong question. What anyone else thinks of us is none of our business. We can’t control the way people think. We can’t make everyone happy. Our job on this planet is to make ourselves as happy as possible during our limited life span. I have sat with many people who were dying and they have a lot of regrets. Regrets such as not reaching out and making amends with that one family member, or regrets that they didn’t tell that one special person of their love. I’ve never heard a dying person regret that day when they were 42 and they wore a mini-skirt and someone somewhere in this vast world might have thought that was a ridiculous choice. Our clothing is as disposable as our own skin in the end. We are gifted this body and we should clothe it in whatever the hell we want as long as we are capable because it will soon be over. Wear the mismatched colors, wear the low neck line, wear the large earrings. Embrace the beauty of these bodies that we have been given in all their differences. And stop pointing fingers, we only have so much time, spend that time in kindness.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 🙂 Thank you for such an interesting comment from a female perspective, I agree embrace your own body, don’t judge others and wear what you wish………………… luckily I’m a guy therefore the fashion police don’t give me a second glance wearing black jeans and casual shirts!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It does seem to be more of a female problem but there was that comment about moobs and it seems cruel to judge somebody on something that they can’t control. It’s like pointing a finger at someone because of the color of their eyes or their hairline. Just isn’t fair.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment