‘Echo and the Bunnymen’ (3 songs)

  • Band: Echo and the Bunnymen
  • Genre: Post punk or New wave
  • Hits: Early 1980’s (and as anyone who’s read this WordPress knows I LOVE eighties popular music 😀 )
  • City of origin: Liverpool UK
  • Vocalist: Ian McCullough

If your first thought is ‘who?’ Then I’ve 3 classic tunes for you from the 1980s, an era when SO many great songs were written along with fabulous ‘hooks’ and toe tipping melodies, once mocked by ‘hard rockers’, I’d suggest eighties Bands and electronic synth have been reappraised with many hit songs being covered by recording artists decades later.

I’m a fan of these 3 timeless classic tunes, even if the band’s’ name ‘Echo and the Bunnymen’ escapes you (fabulous name btw), I’d guess you’ll have heard these songs on the radio.

One remarkable observation of 1980s music is the birth of the music video, an era pre internet where MTV played 24hr videos creating a narrative also an essential marketing tool, they had to stand out amongst hundreds of other iconic videos of their time incidentally many still broadcast 40 years later.

Throughout the decade Record companies spent vast amounts of money producing theatrical music videos often telling their own story, many having been filmed by famous movie directors of the day, and many other’s by Directors who’ve since moved on to directing blockbuster movies of today……..I cannot think of any off the top of my head? So you’ll have to take my word for it 😀 .

Of all 3 songs ‘Seven Seas’ is my personal favourite (btw ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ above is a re-recording of their 1980s hit.

A. Shepherdson 2020

Leave a comment